Issue Topic

Claim: Restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve.

Reason: This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet-related health problems.

Many restaurants state the main ingredients on their menu, but few display nutritional information about the food they serve. Not providing nutritional information to consumers has been acceptable until now. However, as people become more inspired to live a healthier lifestyle, it is unlikely that this will continue to be acceptable. Many are choosing to eat clean, opt into a dietary preference, and select restaurants who are explicit in how they prepare their food.

Eating clean is defined as consuming food that has not been extensively processed through a factory or loaded with additives in its preparation. Organic and wild-caught foods are consumed by people who strive to eat clean, and have recently begun to take over grocery stores. Existing grocery stores have expanded their specialty foods and organic section, while other grocers have been recently created to diminish the lack of clean items on the market such as Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, and Aldi. Those who strive to eat a healthy diet by shopping at organic grocery stores are the same individuals who would appreciate knowing what the nutritional information when dining at a restaurant. Therefore, it only makes sense to conform to the trend in popularity of supporting people’s initiatives to eat clean and provide them of the information they disserve to know.

Along with the rising trend in eating clean is the increased number of people who claim to be vegetarians, vegans, or choose other dietary preferences. Each person with such a preference and motivation to follow a restricted diet should be supported in doing so. For example, fried rice commonly found at Asian restaurants if often prepared using fish oil. Though its taste and other properties typically go unnoticed to the consumer, someone following a vegan diet would normally be unaware of this ingredient that they can’t consume. By restaurants providing explicit nutritional information allows the consumer with a dietary preference to eat there without having to worry, as opposed to avoiding a particular restaurant altogether.

Although provided nutritional information allows customers to know what exactly they’re eating, it may also deter them from going to a certain restaurant if they don’t like what they see. This may cause some restaurants to lose customers, but if the restaurant is smart they will clean up their recipes and update the nutritional information of the food they serve based on the desire of people to eat healthier. Earning their customers back will create a lasting connection that the restaurant should be proud to undertake.

The inadequacy of restaurants to be transparent about the information they display to consumers about the food they serve is quickly becoming unacceptable. With a growing population of people who yearn to eat clean, participate in dietary preferences, and know exactly what they’re eating, it only makes sense for restaurants to conform to this trend and provide nutritional information about the food they serve.