It makes little sense for people with strong technological skills to go to college if they know that they can earn a good salary without a college or university degree

As someone who is just finishing my last year in university, I know that college is about much more than gaining the technological skills. The well-rounded experience has taught me how to network with people, how to organize events, how to manage my time and how to deal with setbacks. No doubt, I have gained thorough knowledge of my branch, but I have also learnt so much more that I wouldn't have the opportunities to learn outside of college.

Firstly, a college education gives a person thorough knowledge about their field. Yes, someone may already have strong technical skills, however, it's not difficult to imagine the difference in skill level between a person who chooses to get a job right out of high school and a person that has spent close to 4 years studying their chosen subjects in detail. For instance, one may have excellent coding skills, knowing the basics of how programming languages like Python and C work is often enough to code programs. However, only a good college education can give a person the knowledge of data structures and time complexity that are essential to make powerful, faster programs.

Secondly, universities give a person a chance to take up something new. It is often said that an undergraduate program is where you get to explore your interests. Joining student clubs, participating in cultural fests, organizing technical and non - technical events and playing a sport is something college students do regularly. Colleges give students a holistic education. Not knowing how to balance work and personal life, can cause a great deal of grief to professionals and the college experience prepares students to lead a mentally healthy life.

In addition to this, interests can change over time, and if people want to change careers, then the extra-curricular and volunteer activities facilitate this process. For example, people who major in civil engineering, and actively participate in the arts and crafts club can over their college years, build a portfolio from participating in various club events and competitions and easily land jobs in fields like graphic designing.

On the other hand, universities are expensive, and many view it as a waste of time and money. People that are not well off will hesitate to take heavy education loans for a college degree when they could earn well enough in those years. However, college is not just about earning a degree to get a job, it is about interacting with people - both professionals and peers. People grow, in more ways than one, when they go to college and that is not something that a regular job will give them.

In conclusion, I would say that a college degree adds much more to a person than just technological skills. A good college experience not only gives a person detailed knowledge about their chosen field, but also gives important life skills to a person. Learning how to communicate, how to network with people, how to work with people outside your field, and how to balance various aspects of your life are skills as integral to life as having technical skills that will fetch you a good salary. Without a doubt, there are a lot of advantages in going to college despite of having sound technological knowledge that can get you a job right after high school.