An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

I wholly agree that an ailing patient should have access to his or her doctor's previous experiences with similar patients.

Firstly, A patient should be able to trust their doctor. Having to take treatment for any health issue can be a nerve-racking affair. To add to that, most patients have no clue about any scientific terms or medical jargon. Very often one does not even know what the medicine they are taking is supposed to treat. In such stressfull situations, it can be a huge relief to know that your doctor has treated someone who was in a similar condition before. This imformation helps the patient trust the doctors treatment wholeheartedly and allows him to focus on recovery.

Secondly, a patient knows what he is going through and his body the best. Any patient, who has been taking treatments from different doctors for a while or has been wanting to change doctors, will never know if the treatment being given to him is correct. If he could access his doctor's record of treating similar patients, he can be sure that the doctor knows how to deal with his problem. This would also allow patients to point out any similarities or differences they see with previous cases, and ask the doctor to adjust their treatment accordingly.

On the other hand, it is true that doctors who have studied and practised in their fields extensively for years have much more information and knowledge on a disease than a patient could have. It could be entirely possible that they know how to treat the patient without having a similar case before, or have previously worked under another doctor that has treated a similar patient. These would not go on the doctor's record, even they know how to deal with it. However, in such cases, it should be the patient's choice, whether he wants to be treated under the doctor.

Overall, I believe that having access to a doctors previous record builds confidence in the patient. Once a patient trusts his doctors expertise and the doctor knows the patient has no doubts or reservations about the treatment he is recieving, it makes the road to recovery smoother and stress-free for both the sides involved.