It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of the issue highlights that if people compromise their beliefs, it might have a deleterious effect on their lives and it is better to cling to their tenets. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that human beings are born and grow older with their beliefs, which created and shaped their personalities. So, it is not a wise decision to compromise a belief. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal viewpoint.

To commence with, there is no doubt that people's beliefs play a key role in their personal lives and they act, make decisions and so forth, based on their beliefs. In fact, in any realm people prefer to take their deeds into consideration. Broadly speaking, our beliefs shaped our personality and identity, so, if we neglect our principles in our day to day life, it will certainly have a pernicious effect on our mind and lives. As a tangible example, vast majorities of people are respectful of their religious practices and rituals. If the community or other authorities prohibit the consumption of meaty-foods, people have to avoid such foods or shift their taste. Otherwise, compromise a belief and consume meaty foods might have a negative effect in the long run. To elucidate more on this issue, people's beliefs and principles are important in any given society owing to the fact that they provide an opportunity for individuals to lead a real life.

Another equally salient example in corroborating my stance is the fact that when a religious people are looking for a well-paid and decent job and finally seize the opportunity in a mammoth corporation, bribery is the crucial fact to make a progress and earn a living. If we take a minute to ponder over it, a person should accept or refute the proposal of bribery when it comes to principles and tenets. If a person wants to keep on his job, he should compromise his beliefs, otherwise, he has to leave the job in order to adhere to his own beliefs. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that in any situation or place, humans should be consistent with their beliefs and do not neglect them. If they compromise their deeds and tenets because of money or other things, they should wait for ruinous effects in the long run.

However, what was alluded to above can't be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with the innumerable benefits it has, indisputably, people will not be forced to wait for their beliefs or compromise their principles. As a matter of fact, everything that complies with our logic will be definitely enough to make decisions act based on them. Refer to the logic not only can help people make the best and a sound decision but also can help people to make a progress day in day out without being critical of their own beliefs. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my point of view.