It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

To sustain in present day dynamic world , one's own beliefs has to be transformed in order to assert the balance with the society which we live in. As time passes , things that drive the world changes and one must be in sync to get the better of the times. Adhering to a fixed set of beliefs might make you less competent because what had worked in our parents period might not work now. A common example from my experience demonstrates this flaw , during my childhood there was a preconceived notion that children who play more do not study well , to our bad , this is believed by most of the children , the effect of this belief is that children who gets less score in the examination consquently repent for playing and become reluctant to play further on .If doing so improves his score he then attributes this to the belief rather than his intellect or a variety of other factors. As they grow old, they should become aware of the discrepancy in these beliefs that is entangled with the world and eradicate such misconceptions, thanks to research studies for imparting such knowledge in shaping the beliefs.For example, recent studies suggest that playing sports ,a form of exercise , improves concentration of the individual.

Sometimes this is the case where beliefs are followed bluntly without reason For instance,it was believed that a person who tries to succeed in multiple fields , fails to achieve none . But this is proved many times throghout the history, may eminent scientists such as newton who is expert in both physics and mathematics, tells us that with hard work and concentration we can culminate ourselves in any field.Such beliefs which are deeply rooted in our

minds are not eradicated by understanding the reason behind such beliefs.

However, there is problem inherent with chaging the beliefs , this perturbs a person mentally by decreasing his confidence and putting in an dilemma - a belief is right or wrong - therefore makes him dependent on anothers beliefs. Such a person inspite of striving to achieve, succumbs to those beliefs.

Therefore, one faces more difficulites in present day world if he is not abreast with the comptemparory factors that drives his well-being. But the important thing is to conform to the reason behind every belief and substantiating

them frequently to make better out of them.