It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

It is said that great leaders are made up of equally great ideas. It is these great ideas that laid the foundational of our modern beliefs such as democracy, equality. Had our founding fathers wavered in the battles that are fought in the mind between different ideologies, they wouldn't have won those that they fought on land with bone and blood. I therefore believe that one should ponder, create and debate one's beliefs and once they have forged them out of the furnace of expereince and the hard anvil of time, one should fight with it, their battle and once they break they shouldn't be bogged down by it. They should go forge a new one, a stronger one.

Every santient being is bound have beliefs. These beliefs are the conjugation of the lessons they learnt through from childhood through out their adulthood. These lessons are the valuable part of their character and this what defines them as a person. They can be the heritage of wisdom and morals that were passed onto them by their parents who they loved and respected. Who themselves have tested those ideas in tough times in their lives. Denouncing these ideas can morally uproot an individual. Take for example, gambling is a frowned upon in my family. It is so because my parents have seen families destroyed and children abondoned because of it. Would it then be reflective of my stength of character to compromise this belief and fall into this trap out peer pressure.

By acting based the on the principles that you believe in, you are more likely to imbibe confidence in others. A noble idea can change the course of humanity. But it would be impossible to make others rally behind you if you yourself are unsure about the effectiveness of your own idea. For example:The shift to electric vehicle from deisel driven vehicle. Had Elon Musk not shown enough trust in his belief by pushing Tesla motors out of bankarrupcy in 2008, we wouldn't be having Tesla Roadster moving on and around this planet in a low earth orbit.

I would like to temper my arguments above with a very important caveat. Before and even after developing your beliefs your should be very open to debate them. You shouldn't shun down the valid points that may be incongruous to your beliefs. It is intuative to think that by doing so you would come out defeated. But remember that Hind Swaraj was written by Gandhi only when he was ridiculed for his ways of freedom and it was Stalin that killed any one who dared speak against him. History hasen't been very kind on the latter. For adhereing strongly to your beliefs you must have beliefs that are actually strong. And only debates are the ways through which one can strenghten one's beliefs.