It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny eventually be diminished.

For some people, they may be that owing to the fact that media are interesting in destroy celebrities’ fame to receive concern from the public, living heroes or heroines no longer survive in nowadays societies. The word ‘’ hero’’ and ‘’heroine’’ are quite obscure which need a more specific definition, but even if they are defined as icons in specific fields, my agreement with it is still with qualifications.

First of all, why the word ‘’ hero’’ and ‘’heroine’’ are too oversimplified is because we are all just people. People who do good things and bad things. Asking one to be a hero or heroine who never do something wrong is just raising moral standards to a impossible height, and this is nothing but toxic.For example, should we neglect the well known Hollywood celebrity Leonardo Dicaprio's effort in rescuing the environment because he is also famous for sleeping with a dozens of actresses? If these’’ hero’’ and ‘'heroine’’ actually mean people who devote and make great change, then it is clearer and may be possible.

Admittedly, it is not new news that media love to use the negative informations of well-esteemed icons to diminish their fame. This is especially commonplace in politics. Medias who are tilted to a party would be especially interested in do so to destroy the influence of parties they are against. President Tsai’s dissertation at LSE is therefore scrutinized to destroy her achievement in foreign affairs. However, this phenomenon may not be so common in other fields, which implicated that such prevalence in politics may be an exception.

Outside the chaotic political field, the connection between media and public icons are comparatively harmonious. The media would not be so insane in digging out those celebrities’ history wither because the public don’t have that much interest in the gossips or the media may rely on good connections with these people to get exclusive news. Jane Godder may be a good example for this statement. Devoting in chimp conservation, the physical anthropologist is can be counted as one of the most important lady in academia. Reporters cray on revealing her past may receive public outrage as harassing the innocent elder, and may have difficulties to get permission for reporting her pint of view on primate conservation. These reasons may help her reputation at bay from being destroyed.

All in all, the word ‘’ hero’’ and ‘’heroine’’ in the passage is too generalized which need a clearer definition. However, except from political field, I still believe that this argument is not tenable because the public won’t buy the behavior of badgering the reverenced and the media also don’t have other reasons to do so.