It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

Many definitions of the word hero exists. One such definition is from the Greeks. According to the Greeks, in order to be a hero, you must have been born from a god or goddess, and you must have done something courageous in order to be favored by the gods. If this were the only case of a hero today, it would be impossible to be considered a hero. Nowadays, though, to be a hero, you do not even need to have accomplished a special feat; the person just needs to be admired for any reason. Many people have heard the phrase "beauty is in the eyes of the beholder." This saying is also true for heroes: a person is considered a hero for different reasons by different people. For this reason, I believe that humans can be regarded as heroes.

One example of a hero you may have is a pro sports player. Nearly everyone has a favorite athlete, playing or retired: Michael Jordan, Peyton Manning, Babe Ruth, and the list goes on endlessly. During high school, my favorite athlete was sprinter Usain Bolt. Being a track runner myself, seeing him win so easily inspired me to work harder and get better in my events. For this reason, he was my hero. The same idea applies if you are a football player, baseball player, etc.: the hero of the person may be considered a hero for inspiring them to work harder in their sport.

One argument against sports players being heroes is that many of them have cheated, so it is difficult to trust that the great players are playing by the rules. Several athletes have been caught using performance enhancing drugs: biker Lance Armstrong, baseball player Alex Rodriguez, sprinter Ben Johnson, and numerous others. The fact of the matter is this: humans make mistakes. In any definition of the word hero, it never says that the person must be perfect. Another thing we must think about is the times the athletes were competing. During Lance Armstrong's competing days, nearly every biker was also caught using performance enhancing drugs. Amazingly, Lance Armstrong was able to win seven Tour de France events, the most of anyone. He even had cancer! This alone makes him worthy of being a hero; if everyone else is cheating, is it really enough to make you not a hero? The same applies for the other athletes.

Humans do not have to be extraordinary to be considered heroes. Many people's heroes are their parents. They could have a modest job, but caring for them while they are growing up may be enough to be considered heroes. Another example of a hero can even be a simple worker such as a janitor. The tasks the human does isn't what makes him or her a hero: it's how they do it that makes them a hero. Cleaning up may seem simple, but if a human does it well, and is always smiling at people when they walk by, that may be enough to have them be considered a hero. A final example of a hero is a police officer. They may not be extraordinary; they may even be disliked at times for giving out tickets. But, keeping people safe may be enough to be deemed a hero.

Many other examples of heroes exist. Whether you are a sports player, a politician, or even a teacher, you can be a hero. It's not always what you do that makes you a hero; it's how. Even the most quiet person in the world can be considered a hero. So before you think it's impossible to name a human as a hero, think of what they have done and how they have done it, and you will realize heroes are all around us.