It is through the use of logic and of precise, careful measurement that we become aware of our progress. Without such tools we have no reference points to indicate how far we have advanced or retreated.

The statement states that we need to use logic and precise careful measurement to become aware of our progress and without it we don't have any reference points to indicate how much we have improved or degraded. In simple language progress is how much we have improved than the last time we did that work. So in order to become fully aware or calculate the progress we require a method to measure how far progress has been made or in fact whether progress has been made or not. Therefore i strongly agree with the claim.

For example consider a chemical reaction of neutralizing an acid with a base, suppose you add 5 gram of base into an acid and it does not work that is neutralization does not occur and the next time you add 10 gram of base and the reaction succeeds. We can clearly see that we needed 5 more gram of base in order to complete the reaction, thus it can be clearly seen that if we do not use logic and precisely measure a quantity we cannot become aware of our progress. If you do not know how you performed last time how you can know whether you progressed or deteriorated from the last time. Consider another example such as a cardiovascular activity like running on a treadmill, there are four basic parameters involved to measure your performance like speed, distance, time and calories burned. Suppose you ran for 6 miles in thirty minutes one day and the next day you ran for 8 miles in the same time that means your speed, distance and the amount of calories burned increased than the last time which implies you have made progress. We can see from the example that with careful measurement we can determine that whether progress has been made or not and by how much.

However one does not always require logic and careful measurement to determine whether progress has been made or not. Consider an example of speaking a new language like German at first you are not confident and clear in speaking then you practice speaking German with your friends, teachers and within a few days you see that you are speaking fluently in German. The point is that you do not always need logic or precise careful measurement to determine if you have made progress or not. Sometimes the people you talk to, your friends and family and help you to determine whether you have progressed or not in that particular area like a feedback system.

Therefore in my opinion logic and careful measurement is must to track your progress or how much you have deteriorated and without it you cannot determine how far have you gone since the last time you did that particular work.