memo

The statement states that the best way for a society in preparation of its young population for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling them a sense of cooperation and not competition. However, sometimes competition is also crucial because when competing with someone we tend to give our 100 per cent. I strongly agree with the speaker's claim. My proclivity towards the same has been explained along with relevant examples in the ensuing paragraphs.

The primary reason as why cooperation is better than competition is a simple notion that 2 minds are better than 1. For example if 100 workers are working in an industry and some fault occurs in the machine while production, instead of one person trying to find the solution to the problem it will be better if all the 100 workers used their brains to tackle that particular problem in the machine. It will result in an increase in efficiency. Another example I would like to give that if suppose a meeting is being held at a company, then cooperation is must because the members of the meeting do not cooperate, it will lead to difference in opinion and thus no action will take place.

The second reason as to why cooperation is preferred than competition is mainly because leadership comes by acting together, working together, not single headedly approaching an issue. People will choose a leader that listens to them and cooperates; they will not choose someone who is arrogant and haughty.

But, there may be some cases where competition is necessary. For example, it is natural that no human likes to lose a battle or competition; everyone wants to win, to be the champion. So competition motivates people in giving their 100 per cent effort.

To sum it all, I strongly agree with the speaker's claim. Cooperation is the best way to prepare the young people for leadership in government, industry and many other fields.

While it may be true that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the common people through advertising, this author's argument does not make a cogent case for increasing the viewers. It is easy to understand why Super Screen should advertise more, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to lead to allocating a greater share of budget next year to advertising.

The author states that fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies past year than any other year. This may be because of the increased ticket prices than the last year, people do not want to pay so much for watching these movies, rather they would sit back home and relax watching the movie on television when it will air. This explanation undermines the author's claim.

Another assertion made by the author is the percentage of positive of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. This might have happened because the viewers had streamed the movie online where they wish to pause, play rewind or forward the movie anytime they want. This also undermines the author's claim.

The author also assumes that the contents of the reviews are not reaching enough to the public. The author might be wrong as the reviews are posted online where anybody can see them.

If a survey had been conducted to know the main reason why people are not attending the Super Screen movies and the people would have replied due to lack of awareness then only the author's claim to share its budget to advertising might hold true. Thus, there is lack of evidence to support the author's claim.