The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement states that the best way for a society in preparation of its young population for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling them a sense of cooperation and not competition. However, sometimes competition is also crucial because when competing with someone we tend to give our 100 per cent. I strongly agree with the speaker's claim. My proclivity towards the same has been explained along with relevant examples in the ensuing paragraphs.

The primary reason as why cooperation is better than competition is a simple notion that 2 minds are better than 1. For example if 100 workers are working in an industry and some fault occurs in the machine while production, instead of one person trying to find the solution to the problem it will be better if all the 100 workers used their brains to tackle that particular problem in the machine. It will result in an increase in efficiency. Another example I would like to give that if suppose a meeting is being held at a company, then cooperation is must because the members of the meeting do not cooperate, it will lead to difference in opinion and thus no action will take place.

The second reason as to why cooperation is preferred than competition is mainly because leadership comes by acting together, working together, not single headedly approaching an issue. People will choose a leader that listens to them and cooperates; they will not choose someone who is arrogant and haughty.

But, there may be some cases where competition is necessary. For example, it is natural that no human likes to lose a battle or competition; everyone wants to win, to be the champion. So competition motivates people in giving their 100 per cent effort.

To sum it all, I strongly agree with the speaker's claim. Cooperation is the best way to prepare the young people for leadership in government, industry and many other fields.