Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

To make a decision, knowing about the past is important. Because past experiences help us to shape our position about issues we have to decide. Without knowing the past, we will be like a helpless newborn baby. So it’s not wise to make a decision without taking past into account.

To make a decision, we need to consider some factors. We cannot just jump in to a decision without thinking about other things that may have influence in that matter. Sometimes while making a decision, depending on the nature of the decision, we have to consider the past, which helps us make the perfect decision. For example, economy is an ever changing field. The whole worlds’ economy is constantly changing. So for any institution to make an economic decision, it has to know about the pattern by which economic conditions changes in the past. Without knowing it, it won’t be able to make a suitable decision for the future.

For government policy making, a government depends on the past events and consequences, which help it to make its decision wisely for the future. Without knowing about the past, the government will just have to blindly make its policies and hope for the best, which is not a very pragmatic solution.

We have to make so many decisions in our life. For making those decisions we rely on our past to forsee the possible outcomes of our decisions. Knowing about the past helps us shape our decision about our life. For example, if someone needs to travel somewhere, he will try to sort out the best possible way of travelling. For that he will depend of his past experience of travelling. If a doctor prescribes his patient a medicine, he has to check the medical history of that particular patient to be sure that the medicine will not cause any harm to the patient.

Suppose an engineer builds a fire safety system. He relies on past informations so he can get an idea of how he should approach the issue. He has to analyze the past events and conclude what kind of safety system he should build.

So to conclude, the importance of knowing the past cannot be denied. Because it helps us a great deal to see the consequence of our decisions and hence making the best decision possible.