Today more people are overweight than ever before.

What in your opinion are the primary causes of this?

What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

Obesity has been a major concern nowadays since the proportion of overweight people is increasing day by day. The main reasons are dietary problems and lack of physical activities. In order to uproot this problem people should be made aware of the situation and the dangers of it, with establishing facilities to fight it.

In ancient times obesity was not very common in the society mainly because of the healthy and balanced diet ancient people used to consume. They were also involved in various types of physical activities which prevented them to become overweight. But with time, our food consumption has changed a lot. People are not aware of the food they are having anymore because they are much more concerned about other aspects of life. As a result they are consuming processed and unbalanced diet that leads to obesity. Also, with the development of modern technology, we do not perform as much physical activities as our ancestors used to do which is another major contributor to the increase in the number of overweight people.

In order to fight this huge problem, people should first be aware of this epidemic. Because to solve a problem first we have to recognize it. Furthermore, people should be informed about the dangers of obesity which include serious health problems that may even lead to premature death. Besides recognizing, it is important to prescribe people the ways to prevent it, such as healthy diet and the requirement of some sort of physical exercises. And to encourage people for engaging in physical activities the authorities should arrange facilities like parks, gymnasium, swimming pools etc for the public.

So to conclude, we have identified the main reasons of overweightedness today and also the steps that can be taken in order to overcome it.