Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems

Environmental problems are one of the crucial issues that we are going through at the moment. There are certain aspects of the environment, one is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. However, there are more pressing matters regarding the environment that we need to be much more concerned about, like global warming, greenhouse effect and the disappearance of ozone layer from certain areas of the atmosphere.

It is true that due to the aggressive behavior and lifestyle of the humankind, many of the plant and animal species have vanished from earth over centuries. Recently the rate has increased a great deal than before. It is also a fact that varieties of species have a major contribution to our ecosystem and overall well being. Their absence can have a negative impact on the overall balance of the nature, which may lead to different environmental problems. For example, some of the species of tiger have disappeared from earth over the time we existed, and many are in danger of extinction. This can hava a harmful impact on the ecosystem of their neighborhood.

While extinction of particular species of plants and animals are certainly an important issue, this is not as important as other environmental problems which are crucial to our very existence. For quite a long time, our major concern has been the global warming, which has the potential to extinct the whole species of humankind, including many other creatures that live in this world at this moment. Due to global warming, the sea level is rising, ice in the polar region is melting. Researchers have warned that in a very short time a large portion of the earth’s land area will be under the sea, which leaves a little chance to the survival of species that live in the land. Another problem is the desertification. Due to deforestation and other human activities, many regions of the world are turning into infertile deserts. Fossil fuel usage is energy generation is increasing the crabon content of the atmosphere, which is responsible for greenhouse effect. Unless necessary measures are not taken, most of the species that are now alive will not be that way in the near future.

Therefore, our major importance should be in saving the whole world, other than stressing about particular species of plants and animals.