"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

When it comes to diseases, two approaches are available, prevention and cure. Both measures are important in the respective circumstances. However, it is often not very practical to prevent before someone catches a diseases, most of the times even impossible. This is where research and treatment to cure come in.

It is clear that no one wants to have any disease in the first place. That is why there is this old saying that prevention is better than cure. But we have to keep in mind that it is almost impossible in many cases to prevent people from catching diseases. No matter how careful a person is does not guarantee that the individual will not be the victim of a disease. Researchers are constantly investigating the cures for extreme diseases, which is expensive without any doubt. But the results of those researches give us the fighting chance to cure. For example, no one can say that if someone abides by a certain lifestyle he/she will never have cancer. It can be seen from our own experiences. Even a common cold or fever cannot be predicted. So we have no other way but to rely on treatment methods and researches for cure.

There are certainly some cases where prevention is the most effective option at our disposal. An example could be AIDS, which is possible to prevent by being careful in our activities. There are some other diseases which are caused by unhealthy lifestyles. These are possible to prevent before they occur. But there are a lot more diseases that we cannot prevent before they occur, no matter how healthy lifestyle we lead. Some are even genetic, where we have nothing to do except trying to make the condition better.

So in conclusion, I think it is more viable option to run research for the purpose of cure, even if they costly. Because prevention is often not in our hand.