Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

Advertising has been a major contributor for high sales of consumer goods for a long time. It may be argued that there are no real needs for consumer goods other than creating a demand through advertisements for some products but in general that is not the case. In my opinion, the producers are using advertisements to reach the customers which is a strategy of modern marketing.

People have been using consumer goods for a long time, namely from the early stages of civilization, although to a small extent. And advertisement has been a medium of marketing for a long time too. Advertising certainly has enormous power to pursue the consumers to use certain products. But it cannot be said that the goods do not have any real need. Over time people have developed certain luxuries that have turned into necessities. And producers are simply trying to convey the message about their products to the customers.

Some people may argue that there was a time when many of the commodities that are common today were not available, and people still went through their lives. What they are trying to say is that advertisements create artificial needs in people’s lives. But the main purpose of consumer goods is to make people’s life easier, and we are so used to them that it is impossible for us to imagine our lives without them. And with the technological advancements, people’s lives have become much easier and hence they are so much dependent upon them which certainly indicates the actual necessities of those items. It is not simply the magic of advertisement. For instance, a car is a necessity in many of the developed countries. Car advertisements are just a way of reaching customers by the manufacturers, not making up demands.

So to conclude, advertisements are important tools of modern marketing, not the creator of demands.