Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Regadless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university ?

The concept of what kind of knowledge universities should provide the graduates has been under debate for a long time. In some people’s view the universities should pave the way for knowledge just for the sake of it. However, in my opinion, the most important function of a university should be to prepare the graduates with the knowledge that is going to be beneficial for their workplaces.

Knowledge is power, which is undeniable. But for knowledge to serve us it has to be relevant for our works. The primary purpose of a university is to prepare its graduates for their future lives. That is why it is important for them to acquire the knowledge which has the potential to coincide with their future work. Otherwise the education will be valueless. For instance, it is obsolete for a business major student to learn about art and art history if he/she is going to pursue a career in business. It will just be a waste of both time and money for the individual. This makes it important for the students to develop the skills and knowledge needed for their jobs.

Although according to some people it is important for the students to acquire knowledge for the sake of knowledge, it should be completely optional depending on individual preferences. If someone wants to learn about things that are not relevant for his/her potential work, he/she should be allowed to do that, the reason being is that it helps to develop someone as a sophisticated human being. Nevertheless, universities and students should always keep in mind the real purpose of higher education, which is to serve graduates in their career.

Overall, it should be clear from the above argument that university education should mainly focus on the workplace of the students that requires the need to design the curriculum accordingly. And acquiring knowledge for the sake of knowledge should come second.