Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

People have a different opinion in terms of the principal purpose of an educational institution such as the university. There are some people consider that the main objective of the college is to educate young people regarding the skills required in the work field. However, others believe that the aim of the universities is just transferring knowledge. I share a similar point of view with the former opinions with the reason outlining below.

There are several reasons why the principal purposes of further education institutions are to transfer knowledge as well as to acquire requisite skills in the workplace. First of all, the collages have a standard curriculum developed to improve students’ skills. They also integrate additional competencies such as communication and language ability to support the students to have the competencies required in working place. Therefore, graduates from the university have a complete competency and ready to take part in the workforce.

Secondly, the universities have an excellent quality of human resources coming from multi discipline fields which do not exist in other educational institutions. The university students are supervised by competence lecturers having broad knowledge in both practical and non-practical skills. Thus, the students are able to acquire knowledge from the experts in their fields. Lastly, many universities also have an internship program aiming to give real working experiences and gaining a skill can be applied in the future job for the students.

To sum up, due to having an excellent educational programs as well as competence human resources, university consider as the ideal place to train young generation about all skills demanded in the workplace.