Q:Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There is currently a contentious argument whether universities should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in the workplace or that the university should provide students with knowledge without considering the benefit to the employer. I strongly believe the major role of a university is to equip the students with knowledge and skills that will make them competitive in employment .

The main reason why I believe that universities should ensure that their graduates have the needed skills that shall make them employable is that, this world is so competitive and employers are after workers that will improve productivity by bringing to the company new skills and knowledge.

Another reason why I support the notion that universities should give the students knowledge and skills that are needed by employers is that when students graduate they expect to find employment and start to pay back the grants they were given during their graduate studies.This they should do so that it can be passed on to others and it can only be achieved if the graduates are absorbed into the employment industry immediately post graduation.

In conclusion, I totally support the fact that universities should equip students with knowledge and skills for employment because the world has become so competitive and employers are looking to employ people who have the knowledge and skills and again they need to get absorbed into jobs and repay the grants that were given to them so that others can also benefit from them.Therefore it should be mandatory that universities should produce skillful and knowledgeable graduates.