At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Young adults are asset to any country’s development and success. For countries with larger number of young adults, it requires detailed study to assess the advantages over disadvantages, which depends on the condition of the countries in concern.

It is undeniable that young adults are essential for progress and invention. For countries with good socio-economic conditions, the larger number of young adults is a blessing. They are energetic and enthusiastic. They are full of new ideas. They are capable of using the resources of their countries for a better future. Although older people are important, they often lack enthusiasm and a thirst for improvement. Countries with strong economy can provide young adults with the opportunities they require in order to be successful and also contribute to their countries. So for developed countries who are financially able to create employment for its’ young people , their greater number contributes to the advantages of the country. There might be some problems like saturation and conflict, but the larger picture clearly shows us a positive result.

On the other hand, countries that lack in economic strength, it often brings difficulty. This is because they usually don’t have enough resources to create employment opportunities for the young adults, let alone progress. There are young people roaming around with ideas and visions, but the embodiment of those ideas are fat fetched. In some cases, the social structures of a particular country can even discourage young people from their visions. While some of them can manage to get what they want and contribute to their countries, it is not common at all. Developing and underdeveloped countries often fall to this vicious circle of poor economy, even if they have a large number of enthusiastic youth.

So, it cannot be generalized for all the countries. It turns out that economy plays an important role in determining whether advantages will prevail over disadvantages.