Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Commercial companies publicize their products through advertising on newspapers, TV and other electronic media to persuade people to buy their items. It is an effective and strong way for the companies to reach towards the public with new offers and benefits of their product but sometimes it misguides people to buy unnecessary things. So, I strongly agree with the statement about the power of advertising over social needs for the following two reasons.

Nowadays people are easily influenced by media and most often they buy popular consumer goods blindly only driven by advertising. Many high sold popular products are merely useful but still, people continue to buy them for show-off. TV commercials excite them by the luxury of their goods and especially young generations step in the traps to follow the trends. For example, many cosmetic and beauty products do not affect an individual or social development but they have a high demand in the market because of their attractive advertising. Thus it can be said that the high sales of popular consumer products are happening by advertising and these products fail to meet the social needs as they are void of practical usefulness.

Social need refers to the basic human needs that are food, education, clothes for all, in a word improvement of the community lifestyle. To ensure group development, it is necessary to spread the light of education among all but the high demanding products do not help to eradicate the darkness from society. Say, the latest model of smartphone or tabs attract people for their technological innovation but unfortunately they have no positive impact on community development. Rather these gadgets make people unsocial and unaware of society need whereas a classical book on literature encourages the young generation to eliminate poverty, hunger from society and to establish equal rights for all people. So, it is the fact that high demanding popular products do not necessarily meet social needs.