Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this modern world the range of knowledge is so vast that it has been divided into many disciplines like science, commerce, arts etc. The future career of a student depends mostly on the decision he makes regarding his field of interest at high school level. So, this choice making is a very crucial issue and the educational institution helps students in this purpose by selecting a field suitable for them. However, I strongly disagree with the claim about educational institutions’ influence over students for the following two reasons.

First of all, if an educational institution discourages a student to choose his field and pushes him into a certain safe field for the assurance of success, the student will not be able to grow the power of decision making which eventually make him less confident in future life. Many may argue that, it ensures good academic result but after graduation there are many career paths of which the right one to be chosen. Even in professional life, one frequently comes up with many unexpected situations which can be solved by his intelligence and decision making ability. So, the educational institution should give freedom to the students to select their preferable field rather than imposing a certain topic on them for the sake of glorious future career life.

Another fact is that, a student best knows about his talent and is also aware of his weakness. So, only he can choose the field where he is likely to succeed. Critics may say that, experienced teachers better know the ability of a student and with wisdom they suggest the suitable field. But it impacts a detrimental effect on the career of a student. Say for example, a student is good at painting and loves to draw pictures. Now if he is forced to study science or commerce for the demanding job field, the merit of that student will be suppressed. He neither could be an expert engineer, doctor nor could be a great artist as he didn’t get the chance to flourish his talent. Thus, inhibiting a student from persuading their preferable field will make so called educated unsuitable for the real world.

Considering the above two reasons, I strongly disagree with the stated claim that dissuades students from choosing their educational field. Rather I would like to request educational institutions to be liberal regarding students’ choice.