Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The cultural tradition of a country is preserved by it’s major cities in the form of ancient building, planned urban life and many glorious construction. As these ancient monuments decay away with time, proper maintenance and care should be taken of these historic evidences. For this purpose governments must ensure financial support to the major cities for protecting the nation’s glorious history and I strongly agree with this claim and moderately agree with the reason for the following two reasons.

First of all, the claim asserts that, government must provide adequate financial support to the major cities. This financial support is obviously necessary for any city to prosper and at the same time to maintain it’s old history, ancient monuments. These archaic sculptures, buildings require regular maintenance as they become precarious with the passage of time. The maintenance program often costs a huge amount of money and the government should make sure the financial support regarding maintenance since these old monuments hold up the glorious history of the nation to the world. Many tourists are attracted to visit a country which is glorified by their ancient history. Many countries of the world like Italy, Greece, Egypt have protected their evidence of archaic monuments and are continuously taking care of them which makes their countries famous and well known around the globe. So, there is no scope of avoiding the financial support to preserve a nation’s tradition and history.

However the reason states that, a nation’s cultural tradition is preserved in the major cities which is not wrong but actually focus on the one side of the picture. Basically the root a nation’s tradition forms and grows up in the rural area. Though rural areas are not charmed with magnificent buildings or sculptures, the nation’s custom, tradition, culture are practiced by rural people throughout generation. So, the statement that, a country’s cultural tradition is preserved in major cities, is partially true.

From the above two paragraphs, it is apparent that, Government must underwrite it’s major cities to protect the nation’s history as well as be conscious about rural life to preserve it’s cultural tradition.