Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes, the assumption that- a special type of woven basket which once was thought to be used by only Palean people, has proved wrong. As recently archaeologists found evidence of using similar type basket in Lithos which is separated from Palea by a deep, broad Brim River and no evidence of Palean boat refutes the “Unique Palean Basket” theorem. However, two two evidences need to be considered before coming into such a conclusion.

First of all, the record of time difference between the trend of woven basket usuage in Lithos and the inception of boat transport by Palean people is required. If the villagers in Lithos began to use the basket before the Palean learnt to make boat, then it can certainly be said that, the baskets were not uniquely Palean. Otherwise, it is possible that the unique Palean baskets were transported from Palea to Lithos via boat. Though it is stated that, no evidence of Palean boat has been found, it is not correct to say that Palean people didn’t use boat at all. They might have used boat, but the evidence hasn’t been found yet.

Secondly, the evidence of any major natural calamities like earthquake that could change the geographic pattern should be found out. It may be the case that, a devastating earthquake or other disasters has changed the land structure and made a passage for water flow which eventually turned into a mighty river. If this scenario proves to be true, then we may say that, there was an easy communication between these two groups and the people of Lithos took the idea of woven basket from Palean.

So it is apparent that, without reasoning out the two above evidences, the conclusion of this argument can not be accepted undoubtedly. The above mentioned evidences or even other relevant historical documents can validate whether the woven baskets were uniquely Palean or not.