An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author concludes that, to combat vitamin A deficiency, it is necessary to promote the new type millet which is enriched with Vitamin A. However there are some other points need to be mentioned.

The statement made above is based on the assumption that, the new type of millet is rich enough with vitamin A to eradicate the health crisis. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will easily accept the new form. Also, the government will pay subsidies for the high price of new millet seeds. So, the author hopefully predicts that the new millet program will result in success.

There are several flaws in the above conclusion. First of all, there is no evidence of the actual reason behind the vitamin A deficiency. It may happen due to some other obscure diseases for which vitamin A of their body is declining. In this case, taking high vitamin A millet might not solve the issue. Also, the probability of successful harvest of this new type millet in abundant, is not stated. Farmers may face many difficulties for the first time and likely to produce a poor amount of the crops. Consequently the price may still be high even after government subsidies due to low supply which eventually will not inspire people to buy the new millet.

So, in order to make the project successful, the factors mentioned in the above passage, should be analysed. The government health department should find out the real reason of vitamin A deficiency and at the same time to the agriculture department needs to launch program to train the farmers about harvesting this new seeds.