In order to vote in school elections in Lowville, you need only be a citizen, have lived

in the district for 30 days, and be over the age of 18. Concerned that the turnout at

recent school elections has been quite low, with only about 20 percent of eligible

voters coming to the polls, school officials have discussed changing the regulations

to require that voters be registered with the board of elections, as they must be for a

general or municipal election. They posit that voters who are registered are already

committed to the electoral process and thus are more likely to come to the polls for

school elections as well.

Examine the logic of this argument by discussing what questions would need to be

answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable.

It is not practical to increase the number of voters solely by registering them. The reason behind the indifference of members to vote needs to be figured out.

There must be some logical issue, why people are turning out at school election. It might be the absence of deserving candidate in the election pool, facing trouble due to administrative mismanagement or the apocryphal transparency of the vote counting. People will only be interested to vote when the elected candidate fulfils his commitment and his activities meet the members’ need and desire. If this type of democratic culture is not being practiced for a long time, the members will find it worthless to go for voting. Also there are some outside factors like current economic and social status of the community which is even more important issue than a school committee election. Without analysing these points, it is a wrong decision to ask for member registration, which would not be efficacious.

So, along with registration plan, the factors mentioned above should be considered to turn peoples’ attention into school election