The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The above study finds out the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation based on the evidence that, first born infant monkeys are more active than their younger siblings for producing more than twice much hormone cortisol. The study also found high level of cortisol in first time mother monkey’s body. As similar behaviour of producing high cortisol by first born human is observed, the scientists come to this conclusion. However, there are some other possibilities that might challenge the explanation.

First of all, there might be some other hormonal phenomenon apart from cortisol for which younger siblings are less active than the eldest child. There are other medical evidences that show that, lack of proper nutrients, vitamins are responsible for an individual’s inactivity whether he is the first born child or younger. If these evidences are true, then the explanation that, first born child being more active due to solely high level cortisol, proves wrong.

The second reason which perhaps is more plausible, is the genetic effect. Genetics might play a big role in this case which hasn’t been considered. The activity of level of both parents is also needed to note down to study individual’s activity level. Genetic science has proved that, many physical and psychological natures of father and mother repeat in their children through generations. Based on this point, the reason behind a person’s inactivity can’t be attributed to cortisol level only.

The above two explanations indicate that, the fact - birth order affects individual’s stimulation is flawed. For the validation of this result more medical evidences regarding hormones, genetics are required.