Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement underscores the importance of knowledge about the past in making an important decision in the present. Past information acts as a database for showing different aspects about any object. The statement suggests that past information cannot help people make important decisions today. Past knowledge, gives us a compendium view of an objects capabilities. Therefore, knowledge about the past can help us make important decisions today.

Past information may signify a person's success rate in performing a job, the ability to accomplish a goal and even know about the importance of a promise for a person. These aspects bolster in making the correct decision. Furthermore, past information, which presents a positive view, increases trust and credo in the correctness of the decision. Considering past information of different individuals, factions and organizations, helps in extrapolating the future result, thereby making the decision-making processer easier. Additionally, past knowledge acts as an experience stick to analyze the various repercussions of a decision.

For example, in the different soccer leagues, where millions of dollars are invested in player, past information is one of the most imperative statistics considered before making a purchase decision. Past information about the records against various opponents, performance in various weather conditions, goal and fouls record and the consistency of player, play a vital role in judging a player’s credentials. Furthermore, past relationships of the player with their previous teammates are also considered to predict a player’s chances of replicating the previous results. Additionally, in American football, video footages are watched of past games of different teams to decide the various tactics, which are to be deployed. These past information may or may not hold true in the present, but it helps to build an understanding and a yardstick for future judgment. Without past information no player is signed on the credo in their potential or without any past evidences.

Additionally, When investing in a company, the past performance records are referred before making a decision by any prudent investor. For pragmatic purposes, the past share rates and performance of company plays a major role in the decision. Furthermore, companies, which have a great past record such as IBM demand a higher value per share than companies which have inchoate or are just novices. Also, when deciding about whom to make the new CEO or any other important position in any company, the past record is what the decision majorly weighs on. An individual with a diverse set of experiences and better success rate is most of the times selected. If past record would have not been used, it makes the decision making process obscure.

In conclusion, Past is like a report card of anyone's achievements and failures. They help in understanding about various aspects of an individual or company. All the multifarious information helps in creating a picture about the chances of the present decision to bear fruits. Therefore, to reiterate, past knowledge is fundamental in making present day decisions.