Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It seems that the uncertainty of present society gives birth to more criminals than ever before. The usual prime time news coverage are full of egregious incidents such as homicide, arson and theft. Considering these circumstances, some individuals call for draconian measures, and think that laws must be rigid and unflappable. However, despite their opinion, laws must be flexible to a certain extent, while taking account of various factors such as times and places.

Admittedly, there is a grain of truth to argue for stringent regulations. We could bring immediate justice to nefarious criminals. Adamant legislation such as punishing anyone suspected of assault would overall reduce the level of violence among people. This could even be applied to offenses on a much minor level. In Singapore for instance, disposing trash on the streets is not an excusable offense like in other countries, and consequently those accused must pay substantial amount of fine, no matter what situation they were in.

Certainly, all these efforts would aid in promoting a healthier society. Nevertheless, several problems exist.

First of all, harsh laws can create innocent victims. Let us take a moment to ponder on the following example: new laws which require everyone suspected of murderer to receive capital punishment have been implemented. You return to your apartment from work, and suddenly find someone stabbed to death, bleeding profusely and lying on the floor. All the evidences seem to inculpate you as the prime suspect. Instead of living a normal life the way it was, you would end up strapped to an electric chair, counting the final seconds breathing alive. These unfortunate occurrences can take place if strict, categorical laws are established.

Not only that, human society constantly changes, and so should their laws. We are all familiar of the expression that the everlasting constant in life is change, and this is applicable to our world as a whole. Some acts deemed as harmless might be frowned upon with contempt several years later. For example, think about the restrictions being imposed on carbon emissions. Decades ago, driving gasoline cars, gorging on a scrumptious piece of beef steak was seen as a symbol of success for most people. In contrast, modern citizens classify these as misdemeanors since it all emits enormous amounts of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, contributing to global warming. As one can see, the society changes, and the laws require making amends accordingly.

It is plausible to think that unflappable laws would guarantee a better world. But, if we ruminate on the infinite number of people without guilt who are wrongly accused, and that our globe is an ever-changing place, there needs to be a certain level of flexibility. Otherwise, such an argument lacks compelling reasons.