The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given recommendation by a committee in the city of Calatrava states that there will be sufficient money to fund facilities and programs used by adults. Several reasons are given to corroborate this claim: birthrates, and the prospect of declining students in the area. However, upon closer analysis, the assumptions behind this argument does not provide a cogent case.

To begin with, the committee assumes that the birthrate in the city is in a downward trend. But, the only statistic information that is suggested is that last year's birthrate was only one-half compared to five years ago. This is not convincing enough, since there is a possibility that the number of new born infants would have been on the rise for the 4 years in between, which could mean that the low birthrate the previous year was a simple deviation from the trend. Under such circumstances, it would be hasty to make the presumption given above. An evidence refuting the suggested possibility is a requisite.

Not only that, do children only native to the city attend the public schools? The reading passage fails to take into account the possibility of newcomers from other regions entering the neighborhood. Students who have newly moved to Calatrava would go to the public schools, which indicate that the number of students in the city might actually rise instead of falling straight. Consider the extreme in which the city is renowned for its quality of education, consequently attracting innumerable number of families moving into the city in order to provide better schooling for their child.

Furthermore, the committee hastily jumps to the conclusion that a reduction in the number of students can help them reduce budgets spent for education. Unfortunately, this might not hold water in certain occasions. The parents could argue that since there are less children in Calatrava, the city must maintain the amount of financial support being put into facilities for students, to ensure that kids get superior level of education compared to their previous generation. If these arguments gain considerable support, the city will have no choice but to comply.

The expectation that there will be bountiful money for supporting venues used by adults may seem plausible at first glance. But, taking an in-depth look at the assumptions the argument makes allows us to reconsider the validity of the recommendation. If additional bolstering evidence is not given, the opinion is open to skepticism and doubts.