Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Leaders are those people who pave the way for people and help in guiding people towards the betterment of the society and the people. The issue that whether or not leaders are created by demands that are placed on them is a contentious one. While both sides has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that when there is a cause or social evil, there are more possibilities for a leader to rise from the public/people.

Firstly, let us take India, during its pre-independence era, around 1910s people started questioning the authorities and started demanding for independence. This led to the rise of many notable leaders who then ceased the opportunity and guided the people of India towards independence. One among the myriad freedom fighters and leaders was Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. Gandhi noticed that his fellow contemporaries / freedom fighters used violence to protest against the British rule. Gandhi was an ardent believer of Non-Violence and he preached non-violence. This was one of the main reason why India got its Independence from British in 1947.

Additionally, when people are unanimously fighting for a cause (be it against the government officials or against a certain law), by nature(psychologically) people want someone to be a representative. This implies that when some event occurs which instigates people, they expect a leader to steer them in the right direction.

Conversely people might argue that leaders are not formed only when a situation demands it. While this may be true in some cases like religious leaders, but there has been abundant cases in the past where leaders are formed when the situation demanded it. For example, Martin Luther King Jr. He played a major role in getting rid of oppression of African-American people in the United States of America. Another example is Malala Yousafzai, she is a Pakistani Activist and a Nobel Price laureate who stands for the rights of women education in Pakistan.

In conclusion, leaders are often created by the demands placed on them. Even though the leader might feel differently from the things expected out of him, the leader must serve the need or problems of the people else he/she might be supplanted with the new leader who is able to cater to their demands.