A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is one of the primary concerns of any nation, be it Canada, the USA or India. If the nation passes a law or a rule stating that students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college, there might be a lot of opposition to it. Although there are benefits, I believe that there are a lot of drawbacks too.

Firstly, Let us take India for instance. India has 29 states and around 6 Union Territories. Each state and region has its own Language and culture. A national curriculum in a place like India, where there is a lot of diversity is difficult to implement. States like Kerela and Tamil Nadu which belong to the south have syllabus and curriculum relating to their locality and history in these places focus on the historical events that took place there. Similarly, the historical events vary from place to place. Devising a curriculum that is inclusive of all the regions and their history is an arduous task.

Secondly, restricting people to only study a particular curriculum is preposterous. Each individual has his/her own capability and everyone should have the liberty to choose whatever curriculum they want to follow. In India, there are many options to choose from. They have CBSE(central board of secondary education), ICSE and various state boards. Each individual has the right to choose whatever curriculum to follow according to his/her caliber and choice.

Thirdly, In a country like India, students also hail from bucolic and rustic places. Government schools have a different curriculum for them. Processing high level of English is very difficult for them and keeping that in mind, drafting a curriculum and syllabus which is inclusive of everyone is quite impossible.

In conclusion, if a nation requires all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, I believe that it is a difficult task and it will not be beneficial to the students.