Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Can students be extrinsically motivated to learn or does it need to come intrinsically? Extrinsic motivation is defined as motivation that comes from anything outside an internal desire. Conversely, intrinsic motivation is defined as motivation that comes from within. The commonly accepted dogma is that to learn students need to be intrinsically motivated. At a superficial level, this seems correct, but this paper will demonstrate that much of what is considered intrinsic motivation is actually extrinsic. Therefore, it is extrinsic motivation that is responsible for learning and not an intrinsic factor-like personal discipline.

The way information is presented in a classroom dictates a student's receptiveness to the material and ability to learn. For example, we have all had different teachers, whether it is elementary school, high school, or above, that took very dry material and through their personality and charisma got us interested. Now all of a sudden learning is taking place and learning will continue as long as the information is being presented in the same way. In this example, it is the teacher and the entertainment that is driving the learning. If these two variables are removed then the student will go back to being uninterested in the material and appear undisciplined.

A student might appear in the classroom to be very diligent and open to the content. They do all their homework, ace all their exams, take on additional learning and we assume it is due to an intrinsic drive. However, if you dig deeper you will always find other external reasons for their motivation. For example, they need to learn in order to keep their parents happier, to avoid falling and falling behind, or to maintain a GPA to get them into graduate school. All of these are undercover extrinsic motivators that push a student to continue to learn. Their discipline is coming from something other than themselves.

Ultimately, learning comes down to giving students the right conditions to learn and not from a personal desire. Additionally, other factors like fear of failure and desire to appease others are at the core of motivation. Those who believe students are learning through intrinsic means just haven't dug deep enough to undercover the true extrinsic motivation of a student.