The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself.

Non-verbals such as body language play a larger role in communication than the actual message itself. While being able to interpret the message is necessary for the exchange of communication, how the message is delivered, through non-verbals, plays a more pivot role in how well the message is received. Similar to a picture is worth a thousand words, nonverbals such as posture and facial expressions can say more to a person than the words used. It is clear that how a message is received is more important than the message itself.

No matter how positive the news may be, conveying a message with negative facial expressions will send mixed signals to the receiver. This will result in a dilution or even complete misunderstanding of the message. For example, one of the most basic exchanges that one can have with another person is the quick "How are you doing?" The response to that message is usually a quick "good" or "fine," but if you look closely at facial features like their eyes, mouth, and even forehead you can get the real answer to that message.

Similar to facial expressions, posture is vital to the delivery of a message. A person can easily lie with words, but it is much harder to deceive the receiver of the message with body language. Displaying posture that signifies a closed-off position like being hunched over or folding your arms can signal that a person is uncomfortable. These signals are easily identifiable and are picked up by the receiver even if they are not consciously aware of it. It is much easier to deceive someone with body language than with words.

Amy Cuddy, presented at a TED conference about how body language not only influences those around us, but also ourselves. She cited one of her studies that showed subjects who did power postures, like arms wide or on their hips, scored better on an interview than those who didn't. These subjects didn’t speak at all. Body language is so pivotal in the interpretation of a message that it can even influence our own judgment and performance.

Ultimately, what you say pales in comparison to how you say it. The interpretation of a message is much more than just verbal. Body language and facial expression can tell one story, usually the true story even if your words are saying something else.