The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals

What builds a person’s character? Bible suggests perseverance through hardship builds matured character. Even with an altruistic perspective, the argument seems to fit well the real life examples including Abraham Lincoln, Benjamin Franklin and even the average people around myself. Assuming that certain level of hardship and perseverance is required for one’s character to mature, frugality in the past might have played a role for developing strong individuals. It is too prompt, however, to conclude that contemporary life is an enemy of the strong and independent individuals because of its luxuries and conveniences. It is still possible to cultivate strong and independent personality in current luxurious life, because not only luxuries and hardships are all relative concepts, but also hardships vary in types Luxuries and convenience are rather relative than absolute concepts.

Many falls into temptation to debase ancient lifestyles as being completely lacking and wanting, considering the fact that most of them lacked food, transportation, housings and other materials that are abound today. Nevertheless, it is important to remember that our next generation might think the same for the current generation, since luxuries and convenience are subjective and relative perceptions. In fact, most generations considered themselves as improvement from the past, and believed that they enjoyed more luxuries and convenience that their ancestors had not even imagined. Thus, it is not appropriate to conclude that current generation is just too special to pursue admirable characters of the past as if we are not the equal human beings

Not only the concept of luxuries, but also the concept of hardship is relative and subjective. No one can determine the quantity of hardship needed to transform individual personality. For a young student, failure to enter a school he or she wanted can be a life-changing moment. Small difficulties experienced in daily life can be equivalent to the strong famine that our ancestors went through. On the contrary, for someone who has experienced hunger since birth, drought and famine might be trivial and not enough to help developing strong character. As a result, if our ancestors were able to achieve the admirable personalities in their own hardships, we can also do the same in our distinctive hardships.

Last but not the least, hardships can be experienced in many different ways even in economically abundant society. Our economic development did not prevent all the difficulties of the past, including illness, divorce, accidents. We all are not immune from those happening, or at least have to witness our close family or friend goes through them. It is not uncommon to find someone who started reflecting his or her life, and made adventurous attempts after the death of close family. Consequently, even with more luxuries and conveniences, we are not totally emptied of the opportunities to develop our personalities. In fact, we still keep the most important hardships of the past including illness and death.

As stated, we cannot make the contemporary society as an excuse, since the luxuries and hardships are all subjective concepts, thus we are not totally emptied of opportunities to develop strong individuals. In contemporary society where no need for fight for hunger or social system is found, it might be easier to waste time lavishing oneself on the endless pleasures of luxuries and conveniences, lacking the motivation to reflect on the meaning and purpose of life. While luxurious lifestyle is definitely not helpful for developing mature personality, it should be distinguished from the assumption that one cannot develop true inner-self at all in contemporary culture