The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which...

Currently, it is debatable whether the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that life of people nowadays are significantly different from life of people who live in the past. Although some people agree with this view, I hold a view that the life of people has changed significantly throughout the time; I also argue that dispelling the illusion that life of people in the past and current is not similar is not the primary merit of learning history.

First of all, due to the development of cutting-edge technologies, people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times. For example, in the past, it was extremely time-consuming to communicate with people in the different regions. People during the time needed to use letters to deliver their messages and had to use horses to meet directly with their acquaintances. However, with the advent of communication technology, people in this present day and age can easily talk with people from all different walks of life and backgrounds. As we can see from this compelling example, the state-of-the-art technologies have made people living now much easier than people in the past, and as a consequence, their lifestyle changed tremendously.

Moreover, it should be noted that there are more pivotal reasons of studying history. To illustrate, through exposure to history, people can learn previous achievement that people made and utilize this when confront with arduous situations. When many African American people were suffered from injustice laws of segregation, Martin Luther King Jr. inspired by the civil disobedience movement that Gandhi used to fight against the British Parliament. Since Gandhi initiated non-violence movement, many followers were gathered and it gained attention and support from all over the world. As a result, India could successfully become independent. Just like Gandhi, King started civil rights movement with the idea of non-violence, and it could successfully achieve the goal of abolition of racial segregation. If King was not taught by past achievement of Gandhi, it would be arduous for him to accomplish his goal. Therefore, learning from past achievement can be an important source to face with the difficulties.

In addition, knowing about history is also crucial in science since from past failure, scientists can advance development. For instance, although there were other forms of planes, the Wright Brother were the first inventors of making available of human flights. From learning the past failure of developing effective forms of airplane, they placed emphasis on propellers, engines and wings. If they disregarded past failures, they were not be able to develop the current form of airplane that allows people to travel all around the world. Thus, learning from the past failure is the pivotal in engendering development.

In conclusion, studying history provide various important lessons that help advancing life of people. Therefore, we should go the extra mile to learn history.