Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Scientific discoveries have changed the shape of our world. These discoveries have shaped modern civilisation from time immemorial. The prompt suggests that a significant amount of the discoveries are not deliberate, that is, astonishing or unexpected results of conducted experiments have provided many remarkable inventions or creations. I mostly agree with the prompt and argue that not all discoveries are planned, a significant amount of those are unintentional or sudden for three reasons.

To begin, from our history of human civilisation, we have seen many groundbreaking inventions and discoveries to be accidental. For instance, when scientist Archimedes were ordered to identify impurity in the crown, he was not able to solve the problem through his planned experiments. Rather, he found the method to solve the problem surprisingly during his bath. Another famous example is the invention of gravity and gravitational law by renowned scientist Isaac Newton. We all know how he accidentally discovered gravity while sitting on a bench under a tree and an apple falling on him. Numerous examples like that show that all discoveries are not systematically planned, many of them (including some groundbreaking inventions) are unintentional. These examples are compatible with the statement of the prompt.

Secondly, in most of the discoveries, scientists found some unexpected results while conducting experiment on another topic. A famous example is the invention of X-ray by scientist Roentgen. He was not aware of X-ray or trying to prove the existence of X-ray, rather he discovered X-ray accidentally. Another example is the invention of electric charge by scientist Franklin. He discovered the existence of charge unexpectedly while conducting a biological research. These example show us that in many of the important discoveries, scientists were seeking the answer of one question while seeking the question of other.

However, there are a lot of vital discoveries which were not accidental, rather a result of systematic effort of years. For example, theory of relativity was invented by Einstein through his systematic research. There are also many example supporting this statement.

So I mostly agree with the prompt that many groundbreaking inventions were accidental. But not all of them are accidental, a lot of inventions were a result of systematic approach of scientists conducting research years after years. So many inventions are unintentional, but there are also lots of example where they were results of experiments.