Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations.

There is no denying the fact that, previous generation's way of life will have a significant impact on future generations. I agree with the statement presented in the prompt that, our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations. I will provide two reasons to support the statement.

To begin, we, present generation, are polluting the earth so much that it may not be suitable to live for our future generations. We are polluting air, water, sound - all our environment. We are cutting down trees for housing, that results in the decrease of oxygen in air, whereas, as population is increasing rapidly, the amount of carbon dioxide is increasing rapidly. So earth's atmosphere is getting warmer due to green house effect, which results to global warming. Because of global warming, ice may melt in the poles of earth which lead to the increase in sea water level. This may cause a lot of countries to be submerged in water. Furthermore, as we are also polluting water in the rivers as well as seas, marine creatures are in danger, which will hamper our ecosystem. Uncontrolled use of plastics are causing to deaths of fishes in the river and seas. So, by polluting environments, we are making the earth less livable for our future generation.

On top of that, the exponential increase in technologies will be harmful for future generation. Social media, like Facebook, Instagram, TikTok etc. are a distraction for the students as they spend their valuable time in this rather than studying. One may argue that these modern technologies are enhacing the way of our living, but they fail to notice that these technologies are harming our normal way of life. In addition to waste of time, there are less interactions between people as they are spending more time on their smartphones scrolling facebook or playing video games rather than going to park and spend healthy time with family members. Many psychological problems like loss of concentration, depression, suicidal tendencies etc. are increasing because people become obsessed about others life by watching their success in the social media. In social media, everyone tries to show that they are perfect, leading to envy and depressions among others. So, this uncontrolled use of social media and video games are harmful for our younger generation. As more and more technolgies are coming, our future generation is in a dark situation.

To sump up, I think that our modern way of life will hamper the future generation. As we are polluting environment indiscriminantly and not caring about the adverse effect of emerging technologies in our children's life, our children's generation are certainly in uncertain and bad situation.