Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that sports and social activities should be treated with equal importance as classes and libraries. They suggest that sports and extra-curricular activities should get equal financial support as lecture classes and libraries. However, I strongly disagree with them and believe that while sports and social activities have some importance for universities and colleges, they are not as essential as curricular activities. Hence, these extra-curricular activities should get less financial support than curricular activities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, curricular activities like classes and libraries are more important than extra-curricular activities like sports and social activities because they are the primary purpose of educational institutions like colleges and universities. Universities have to produce a skilled workforce for the country, so graduate students need to have proper knowledge about their respective subjects. For example, engineering students must have good experience in various projects, and medical students have to be good in medicine and surgery. Without their proper education in their fields, graduate students will not be able to perform their responsibilities properly. As a result, the nation will not get a skilled workforce. This matter has to be considered carefully because educational activities need to get more financial support than other activities so that students get proper knowledge and expertise in their fields, otherwise the country will lag behind. Thus, educational activities are more important than other activities.

Secondly, sports and other activities can have financial support from various sponsors in various competitions and tournaments. For example, in a football tournament among various colleges, sponsors invest in the tournament to market their products among the supporters who attend to support their teams. As a result, extra-curricular activities get enough external support from a number of companies. So, there is no need for equal financial support for them because curricular activities only get support from the educational institution itself. Hence, classes and libraries should receive more financial support from universities and colleges.

To conclude, while sports and social activities are important for students to develop various skills, they are not as important as educational activities. That is why they are termed "extra-curricular activities." So, I strongly believe that libraries and classes should get more importance and more financial support from educational institutions.