Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that sports and social activities should to be treated with equal importance as classes and libraries. They suggest that sports and extra curricular activities should get equal financial support as lecture classes and libraries. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that while sports and social activities have some importance for university and colleges, these are not as essential as classes and libraries. Hence, these actvities should get less financial support than educational and curricular activities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, curricular activities like classes and libraries are more important than extra-curricular activities like sports and social activities because those are the primary purpose of an educational institution like colleges and universities. Universities have to produce skilled workforce for the country, so the graduate students need to have proper knowledge of their respective subjects. For example, engineering students have to good in various projects, medical students have to be good in medicine and surgeries. Without their proper education in their fields, graduate students will not be able to perform their responsibilities properly. As a result, the nation will not get skilled workforce. This matter has to be considered carefully because educational activities need to get more financial support then other activities so that students get proper knowledge and expertise in their fields, otherwise country will lag behind. Thus, educational activities are more important than other activities.

Secondly, sports and other activities can have financial supports from various sponsors in the competitions and tournaments. For example, in a football tournament among various colleges, sponsors invest in the tournament for marketing their products among the supporters who attend to support their teams. As a result, extra-curricular activities get enough support from other companies. So, there is no need of equal financial support for them because curricular activities only get support from the educational institution itself. Hence, classes and libraries should receive more financial support from uniiversity and colleges.

To conclude, while sports and social activities are important for students to grow various skills, they are not as important as educational activities, hence actually they are termed "extra-curricular activities". So, I strongly believe that library and classes should get more importance from the institutions.