Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

In this essay, it is discussed by the author that many problems in modern societies could not be solved by different laws or legal systems just because these systems cannot alter what is in people’s hearts or minds. Although many people disagree with this statement, I buttress this idea because it has been postulated that these systems not only stem from different cultures in which iconoclastic peoples are being decried but also many legislators need people’s confirmation to legislate laws.

First and foremost, it has been proven that many peoples may behave differently regarding to laws in variegated countries, cultures, or traditions. What are the obstacles? Laws must be affirmed by cultures although this confirmation needs change which is demanding and taxing, to say at least. As well as, in many countries, people decry iconoclastic individuals. The people could be imprisoned due to their infringing cultures and derived laws. Hence, by legislating according to cultures, people could accept those laws and keep them. Thus, for the first action to solve problems in modern societies, laws or legal systems should be accepted by the status quo cultural system and then will be utilized to solve the societies’ troubles.

Another thing would like to say, by and large, education takes Centre stage for preparing people to confirm the laws. By amending the educational system, governments are able to bolster their legislations as much as possible because people could perceive necessary of doing laws. It can change their mind from possibly unjust to sound laws. If people know about laws’ necessities, they will observe them. Hence, they will confirm and do not infringe laws. Therefore, by amending educational system, legislators could take people’s minds and hearts germane to laws.

Although believing that laws could not change people’s minds, many people declare that forcing to abbey laws could alter their responsibilities in society. For instance, punishing culprits or felons could change people’ mind about various consequences of the infringing law. As an illustrated case, according to Texas governor’s speech, crime rate has taken nosedive from 1998 to 2004 by bolstering and establishing laws which are supporting punishment. Thus, requiring to observe laws, even unjust, could guarantee the sound society.

To sum all reasons up, laws cannot change people’s minds or hearts thoroughly, indeed, it can be deemed that these laws cannot either change or solve many issues in the society. It should be mentioned by appropriate people’s educating and legislating sound laws which are deriving from indigenous cultures of societies, people could do their societal responsibilities. These laws deriving from people’s entities, minds, and hearts; these laws could solve many problems in society.