Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The author stats that "Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important." I up-to a certain extent, disagree with the author on his stance on the change network communication systems have caused.

The reasons for my disagreement up-to a certain extent to the author's point of view is because it does not give proper insight and does not accounts for all cases. For example, the author stats those attention spans have gotten to be shorter. While it may in general case appear so but in reality it isn't so. Mass media and internet has provided the tools to increase the time and endurance of people's attention. Not only do we have internet with the help of which we can increase our attention spans but it also helps in providing constant focus on a particular topic. The other case due to which I agree to author's point of view is because due to mass media and internet today we have got things such as smart-phones and laptops which can simultaneously multiple things at a time. This has resulted into the decreasing the attention process of some people.

The other statement author gives is that the people today are able to do multiple tasks in the same amount of time. Although it may seem like the point I made above it isn't because it assumes a crucial step which is people today are able to manage the time which isn't necessarily true. The thing is people have made themselves able to do more work which is true but they haven't made themselves able to mange time. Now, some might think how I can be so sure about it. Well a data from Vellore University tells us that 73.8% of people suffer from work-life and home-life imbalance. That tells us people today still are not able to manage time. They just have managed successfully to be busier than they ever were.

Also the author stats that we have managed to make ourselves able to do work efficiently which is true and it the reason why we have become busier than ever. If we weren't efficient we wouldn't be busier and would only be able to do task at a slow rate. In my opine it should not be about has mass media and internet has helped us or not. It should be about have we have managed to successfully able to use them for our benefit as they were promised and made were for, in the first.