Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Focus.It remains a primal trait of a very few mortals now in the ever changing ever evolving world.Thanks to the mass media and the internet. Mass media and internet throw us up with lot of information, lot of details, lot of melodrama which actually is superfluous.It affects the person by changing his mind's focus from one subject to another.In the process he is able to differentiate what content out of truckloads content is important and which is not.But it results in a great loss in the form of focus or attention as you can say.This loss is far greater than any advantages the information provides us.

Once you take up a subject, there's another batch of information available about a new subject or the same old subject.But in a world where everybody is trying to be different the new batch presents you with a different perspective.When you try to gain some knowledge there, you are swayed away to another topic which just sensationalizes it.So you are actually compelled.What is the use of going through so many topics and even if you just read the main content, there's no point in the end because you do not give your full heart and brains to it.You cannot incorporate it in your lives. To do so you have to have a profound knowledge of that subject which can only come if you focus and devote your time and attention to it.

Not only with information,mass media and internet videos, which are made in such a way that it grabs the interest to the viewer for a longer period of time.To make this happen a single subject is subjected to the viewers from different angles so in the scenes the angle keeps on changing.By the time you can focus on a scene its view has changed, its subjects have changed.This phenomena is scientifically proven that it reduces the attentions span because after a while your brain stops analysing the situation and focusing on it.This affects the normal day to day life because it leaves the individual with a reduced attention span.It has an impact on a the young mortal when he is trying to study something or trying to concentrate but is unable to do it.

The overwhelming information that is presented by the internet tempts us to keep our eyes rolling and even if we settle them for one good reason it presents us with so much distraction that we are unable to do it.We keep pushing behind the new topic and try to understand that.But in the process what happens is we try to master one subject but are unable to.So we end up like a Jack, Jack of all trades master of none.

All the information is important, I agree but it is not relevant to everybody.When the mortals instead of figuring out what is the most important subject or paragraph, understand the importance of the subject or paragraph at hand will they able to extract the true essence of it with.With the true meaning revealed it may open a door of lot of opportunities further, but first understand the importance of the present door rather than rushing through the next.