The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In dev

Looking back to the contemporary culture of the past few decades, you may see some differences in fashion, arts styles and media, and uses in technology. While we always outgrow some of these trends, other trends take their place. To understand these changes in contemporary culture, the most efficient way is to analyze the trends of its youth.

For example, looking into fashion and style of past generations, it's always teens and young adults that are always the trend setters. Back in the 1980s, womens style was to have big hair and shoulder pads. The fashion always showed younger women on their magazine covers with these styles, and it was younger women that bought that style. These trends have changed to a more relaxed and sleeker style in today's generation, but it’s younger people starting and holding on to these styles. Older generation during the 1980’s, or in any time period for that matter, have the tendency to wear outdated styles, problaby styles that reflect the time when they were younger.

Another example that the best way to understand contemporary culture is to look at youth trends is to look at a time periods art and media. In the 1950s, going to the drive in movie theater was considered one of the best ways to view a movie. This form of movie watching really appealed to youth because it allowed the comfort and privacy of your own car for you and your highschool sweetheart. Older people in that time never caught on to this and continued to view movies in theaters. Today's youth found it more convenient to skip the movie theater and just view a movie right off of their laptop.

Lastly, the technology usage in any given time has always been dominated by youth. Whether it was the invention of the internet, or the introduction of electricity into a common home, teens and young adults always jump on the bandwagon with new technological advancements and with the latest gadgets. And in each generation of youth, shortly after you have older people complaining how “kids have it so easy with this new device’ or how “kids don't need this new kind of technology.” The same could be said today with youth wanting the latest smartphone or the fastest personal computer. It has always been youth that have been buying new technology and driving different tech companies to continue to improve for the next generation.

Looking at the any given generation, contemporary culture is always seen in within its youth. Youth are the trend-setters that go after the latest styles, forms of entertainment, and technology. It is because of youth that these different industries strive to improve to match the desires and needs of future generation. Older people tend to stay within their own comfort level when it comes culture and should not be looked at when analyzing contemporary culture.