People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In any circumstance, it would not be recommended to to take risky actions without considering the consequences. Taking consideration of the consequences in decision making can be time consuming, but it gives the most control in a situation. Likewise, taking into account the outcome of a decision can help discover other potential actions to take in a situation. Without considering the consequences before taking action can lead to poorer decision making.

Firstly, proper decision making gives us more control in a situation. Take the example of skydiving as an extreme sport. It is advertized that skydiving is safe if all of the proper procedures are followed. Someone who makes quick decisions will sign up for the sport with no questions asked while there are many questions that may need to be answered. What are the different safety hazards involved in this sport? Does the business that offer the service seem legitimate? Are the instructors experienced? Is there another activity I can participate in that will give me the same thrill as skydiving, but safer? After answering all of these questions, the person may still go skydiving, or may have other ideas for an extreme sport, such as bungee jumping or going indoor skydiving. Thinking about the decision and potential outcomes gives the decision maker more control in a situation, and more potential options.

On the opposition, considering the consequences before making a risky decision can be time consuming. While that may be true, taking immediate action without thinking about the outcome can lead to a poor outcome and can lead to impulsive habits. One example of this could be ordering fast food. Given the fact that it's called “fast”, most people order out of fast food restaurants because of its convenience and do not consider alternatives. After a long day of work, people drive straight to a drive through and order a burger. They don’t stop to ask themselves if their is a healthy restaurant nearby or if they should just cook at home. Making this kind of decision is fast, but will lead to poorer health and weight gain.

In conclusion, undertaking risky actions only after considering its consequences results in the best outcome. Impulsive decision making will often lead to poorer outcomes in a situation and create an impulsive habit. Only a carefully thought out situation can lead to more control and other potential outcomes.