The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth

The youth are the people most cossetted, most open to vicissitudes and the most energetic. These people not troubled by real life problems and have the audacity and spirit to live the way they like. Youth trends always follow contemporary culture, these two notions are so intercalated they are impossible to be differentiated. Which is why I believe the most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

How are studies of contemporary culture conducted? Through transaction records of the latest hits or hottest items? Surveying people belonging to that culture? Or perhaps through living in that culture? Regardless of the method, it seems clear that the best candidate to offer solutions to these questions are the youth. They are the people most open and free to express what they believe in, most wild in terms of buying the latest items and the people most indulged in living the styles of the contemporary culture. By analyzing their trends and culture, one would be able to glean information on contemporary culture most efficiently.

Since when has the trends of the youth deviated from the contemporary culture? Young people are constantly trying to find acknowledgement whether from their peers or from their seniors. Not bothered by the real life struggles and cosseted by schools and family, they can freely embrace the notion of being “cool” at heart. To young people, contemporary culture is the way of living. To exemplify this, young people popularized the instant messaging programs and email in the 1990’s; the next decade of young people popularized Facebook and twitter, and the young people of now are moving into Instagram and other newer social media platforms. To each time period, the contemporary culture belongs to the young people of that generation. It is fair to say that the trends of youth is what contemporary culture grew out of.

Arguably, contemporary culture are rarely created by the youth. However, it cannot be denied that without young people, what we know as contemporary culture right now would not be contemporary culture. To elaborate, is may have been Steve Jobs that created the iPhone, but would Apple ever reach such level of prestige and fame if young people had young people not gone to the point of ‘worshipping’ these innovations? The rise to the level of ‘contemporary culture’ takes young people and thus it may even be logical to claim that contemporary culture is developed from the trends of the youth.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that the most effective way to study contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of the youth. While it may be true that contemporary culture is often not created by the youth, the young people are the people that bring these innovations to the level they are now. Thus, there is no better candidate to study when it comes to studying contemporary culture, because contemporary culture is the trend of the youth.