'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager states that the television station should restore its time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenue. However, the author fails to present the following evidence to strenghen its argument.

The memorandum writes that most of the complaints recieved were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. However, inadequate evidence were provided regarding the complaints. Who were the ones that report the complaints of the viewers? If only one person was in charge of recieving complaning calls, then the person might have a big picture of what all the complaints are about. But if the complaints were handled by several people and they were not encouraged to report the complaints to their supervisor, then some of the complaints might be unknown to the business manager. In addition, are the complaints precisely documented? What was the exact content of the viewers complaints? Maybe some of them were complaining that they don't like the current coverage of weather and local news at all and wishes not to know about it at all.

The manager also writes that local business have canceled the advertising contracts with the televsion and suggests a lost in advertising revenue. However, evidence is needed to show that new contracts signed with other companies can't result in the same or even larger profit. Even if the local business canceled its contract, it doesn't mean that opportunities of signing a contrat with national corporation is shut down. Since the television station has devoted more time into national news, that meant attraction of more viewers from all over the nation, and perhaps larger business coporations are seeking this opportunity of advertising its products to a larger audience.

Last but not least, the manager should conduct a survey on its audiences and provide the base number of its viewers. If there were one billion viewers, and among the one hundred viewers ninety of them complained about the weather and local news, then it doesn't mean that the vasr majority of viewers aren't satisfied with its current report. To best know what the opinions of the audiences are is therefore to conduct a thorough survey.

The above mentioned evidence need to be provided so the manager cold strengthen its argument.