The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter believes that Parson City residents value good education in public schools more highly than Blue City residents. She belives this because although both cities allocate a proportion of its overall tax revenue to public school funding and that the two cities of equal populations, the absolute value spent on public schools for Parson City is nearly twice the amount of Blue City’s revenue spent. Although her argument may seem plausible, the assumptions she claimed is weakly correlated and built on a baseless foundation. Further evidence on the socio-economical standings, age distribution and of the two cities must be provided in order to evaluate the argument.

First of all, the claim is that because the population of the two cities are equal, the government would collect a similar amount of tax revenue. An assumption the author adopted is that the citizens of each city have the same average income. However, we are not given any background information about the socio-economical standings of the citizens of the two cities. Parson City may be an industrialised, IT oriented, metropolitan city with many high payed white collar workers, where as Blue City may be a countryside city oriented towards agriculture. If this is the case, it is natural that Parson City would generate more tax, thus spend more on public education even if the citizens of the two cities value public education equally. Some evidence of similar socio-economical standings of the two cities would have to be provided by the author to make her cause valid.

Building upon the implication of equal tax revenue, we do not know the demographics by age of the two cities. Although the two cities may have a similar population, if Parson City is a young city with a large labor force while Blue City is a retiring city with half of the citizens on retirement, it is natural that Blue City would only generate half the taxes of that of Parson City. The author can perhaps cite evidence from the government census to support her stance, otherwise we cannot effectively evaluate this claim.

Lastly, the citizens of Blue City may contribute more anonymous donations towards public schools and the citizens of Parson City. Although the author claims that the majority of the funds spent on school that student attend derives from tax, the donations may very well be anonymous and not listed upon the schools’ treasury documentations. Evidence regarding donations is needed to help evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, it may be true that Parson City residents place an higher emphasis on public education than Blue City residents, the author’s argument nevertheless hardly makes a cogent case. If we were to further evaluate this claim, the author will have to cite reliable evidence regarding the general socio-economical standings, population age distribution and donation tendencies of the two cities.