The following appeared in a memo form a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

“During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industry plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or stated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing believes that by shortening work shifts, employees will get more sleep and become more self-aware, thereby reducing the number of on-the-job accident and ultimately increase in productivity. While the correlation stated seem logical, this proposal is filled with baseless assumptions which should be addressed before any change should take place.

First of all, it is assumed that shortening the shift times to match the hours of Panoply Industry will decrease the chances of on-the-job accidents. This may be plausible if indeed the types of work or working conditions for employees of Quiot Manufacturing perform are analogous to the types of conditions in Panoply Industry. We are not given this information however, employees of Panoply Industry may have a job with almost no risk involved such as simply sticking company labels onto products, while employees of Quiot Manufacturing have more dangerous jobs involving use of acidic chemicals. Also, the working environment of Panoply Industry may be harmonious with sufficient lighting, air-con, background music which allows employees to work in a careful while relaxed manner, while workers of Quiot Manufacturing have to endure the heat from no air-conditioning.

Furthermore, the claim is that by shortening each shift by an hour, the employees will have extra time to get adequate. There is no evidence that the employees are lacking in sleep however, with adequate sleep itself being a subject term which may differ from people to people. Some may feel the need to sleep for 14hrs a day while one may be suffice with just 5hrs of sleep. A survey can be conducted to see how employees allocate their leisure time outside work, and whether they feel sleep deprived or not. If the employees don’t feel sleep deprived, they are more likely to use this extra time off work on other matters such as clubbing which will make them even more tired for the next shift.

Lastly, the credibility of the claim that there is indeed more on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing itself is lacking. We are not given how long each shift is, the extra 30% of accidents may be simply a result of extra work hours, not being correlating with fatigue or sleep deprivation. For example, if each shift lasts 2 hours in Panoply Industry while 3 hours for Quiot Manufacturing, it is logical that more on-the-job accidents are likely to occur in Quiot Manufacturing simply as a result of longer work times.

In conclusion, while it is true that decreasing on-the-job accidents will lead to an increase in productivity, the vice president’s input on simply reducing shift hours is weak built on unfounded assumptions. These assumptions will have to be addressed before any further step should taken place.