In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge

People regard professionals, especially professors to be highly knowledgeable in their respective fields. While this may be true, people often overlook the importance of imagination in some of these fields and attribute their success solely to their knowledge. I believe there should be an equal emphasis on the importance of both imagination and knowledge in most professions.

Given enough time to read into a particular field, anyone can gain a substantiate amount of knowledge regarding the subject. This is why we have an abundance of people all claiming to be professionals – which is not exactly wrong given the mass of people viewing knowledge as the only essential trait of professionals. However, it takes creativity for one to surface out of all the other knowledgeable people out there. It is only creativity and imagination that can foster revolutions and make one be remembered. Surly Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, Leonardo Da Vinci are all incredibly knowledgeable people, however, they were not made famous by their immense knowledge; Steve Job developed the game changing iPhone, Mark Zuckerberg created a unprecedented powerful social media platform and Da Vinci was known as a maverick of the time. These well-known examples serve to suggest that imagination is an important characteristic equally if not more important than knowledge.

The application of imagination is much wider than most people would imagine. There is application of imagination even in the most recondite and factual fields such as archaeology and history. Information in these fields rarely come as a cohesive piece, it takes one’s clever imagination to fill in the gaps and put each piece together to produce a comprehensive work. These imaginations will also provide insight on where to look for the missing elements of knowledge and bolster knowledge in the long run.

Though knowledge alone may work to a certain extent in a profession, imagination by itself rarely produces any positive result. I see knowledge as the swordsmanship of a knight, while imagination as the sword she wields. A master of swordsmanship will inevitably lose to a less skilful opponent if her opponent wields a considerably more incisive weapon. Likewise, a total amateur is unlikely to be able to use a formidable sword correctly for his lack of knowledge. This analogy shows that it takes fundamental knowledge for one to put good use of their imagination, and that both these traits are of equal importance.

In conclusion, I believe that imagination is a vital asset to any professional. However, this is based on the assumption that one has the sufficient knowledge to utilize this imagination. Thus, I think it is of best interest to develop skills in imagination and knowledge equally.